If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.

I have posed this question to many of my close friends and family and have received a range of responses, however most said they would decide not to read the book, I have to say that I agree with them. I think one of the best things in life is the element of expecting the unexpected and the rush you feel when you take a risk because you don’t know what the outcome will be.

I think whilst it would be good to read over what has happened in your life so far (as let’s be honest we don’t remember everything!) and relive the experiences of the best days in detail, or perhaps seeing how you overcame a difficult situation. Looking back and seeing how far you have come from that experience would be encouraging and make you feel happy. So if you could just read the book up to present day I would decide to read it, but you have to read it cover to cover, which means finishing it right up until the moment you die.

I would not want to see what my future holds for me in advance. I love that in life the decisions you make lead you down different paths and if the decisions have already been made then you will have to go down the path leading to that decision even if it is not necessarily the right one or the one you feel is right now at this moment in time. I know also it is morbid but I don’t really fancy seeing the way I am going to die (and I don’t know many that would to be honest!). If you read that something bad in your future was going to happen you would dread that specific day that it would happen on and because it is already written that must mean that it is going to happen regardless of what you try to do to stop it.

Whilst it would be great to read all the amazing things that are going to happen, which you would look forward to now you know. Reading the book would take away the element of surprise that it was going to happen. Also people tend to focus on bad news rather than the good, so you would probably dread the bad things more than look forward to the good.

2 thoughts on “If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.

  1. Good and unusual post… When I read the title, the way in which I first interpreted it was: “would you be happy for your life, from beginning to end, to be in a book? e.g. is my life “worthy” of being in a book and being written about? And is it something I would want to read at the end of my life because of what was in it?”. So my initial interpretation of your title got my thinking! Then I started reading your post and that got me thinking again, albeit in a different line! Thank you for thought-provoking post!

Leave a Reply

