50 Things I Learnt In My First Year At University

With my first year at University sadly coming to an end I decided to reminisce and write a blog post about the funny random little life lessons this year has taught me.

  1. In spite of all the clichés university really is when the best years of your life happen so far
  2. You can get a curry, rice, naan bread from Tesco’s for under £1.50
  3. Giving back to the local community feels really rewarding
  4. Volunteering yourself for things you have never done before is really fun!
  5. Playing rock-it-ball really does hurt
  6. Competing for the university is an amazing feeling
  7. You really do make best friends for life
  8. Going on several trains home by myself isn’t  scary at all
  9. It’s never a bad time for fancy dress
  10. Any item can be made into fancy dress
  11. Visiting your friends at different universities turn into mini holidays
  12. After a while you will get sick of tomato soup and cookie crisp cereal
  13. Pub quizzes aren’t just for old people
  14. Southerners think my Yorkshire accent is ‘exotic’ (yes somebody really did say that to me)
  15. It’s completely normal to feel more patriotic towards your hall than to your own country
  16. Cereal is not just a breakfast meal
  17. It’s never too late to eat a takeaway
  18. Couponing can get obsessive
  19. Bouncy castles are still fun even at 19 years old
  20. Sumo suits are really hard to get out of
  21. Sugar Ray Leonard is the nicest sportsman I’ve ever met
  22. I’d rather not know what is in the punch at socials
  23. You never know when you might need a red sparkly bow tie
  24. Being on crutches isn’t as fun as what you thought when you were about 8
  25. Having family visit you is the best
  26. Getting care packages and letters are the highlight of my day
  27. Everyone has their signature dance move they use in Freshers and stick with the whole year
  28. Studying your favourite book ruins it for you
  29. Pre-drinks is often better than the night out itself
  30. The library becomes your second home
  31. Training next to an Olympic athlete was a surreal moment I’ll never forget
  32. You can meet your favourite band
  33. The library is a great place for some serious people watching
  34. Book clubs are in no way geeky at all
  35. I can do my own washing after all
  36. You are bound to get a nickname in the first week
  37. No ifs, no buts, catered food is rank and everyone knows it
  38. Flip-flops are a necessity to life
  39. Loughborough is the windiest place in the universe
  40. There’s always time for a cheeky power nap
  41. There is always an excuse for more Freshers weeks throughout the year
  42. I can sleep through anything (even dub step)
  43. I never knew there were that many card games
  44. Two cups and two ping pong balls can provide hours of fun for your flat
  45. The squat challenge hurts but is worth it
  46. Even if my best friends are halfway across the country to me they will always be there for me no matter what
  47. Fizzy drinks become a novelty
  48. Kitten heels are only acceptable to wear in Yorkshire
  49. Shreddies without milk are a no go
  50. I wish I could be a Fresher forever
One thought on “50 Things I Learnt In My First Year At University

  1. Pingback: 35 Things I learnt in my final year at university | Sophie Chekruga

Leave a Reply

