Random Act of Kindness

When did the last random act of kindness happen to you? A random act of kindness is basically something kind which a stranger does for you that is a completely selfless act. The other day one happened to me.

The story goes like this…I was travelling to London by myself (which I have never done before) and I had to change at Kings Cross Station, walk to St Pancras then catch my train from there. Doesn’t sound that daunting does it? Well the train I was on before (which got me into Kings Cross) was delayed on the journey which gave me 10 minutes to get from one station to the next, this contributing with the fact I have never done it before made it daunting for me. Whilst the train was approaching its penultimate stop a stranger sat next to me. He was about my age (early twenties), and had short blonde hair. His right arm was covered in a sleeve of tattoos and he was closely reading a paper I have never seen before. We got chatting and he told me he had visited some friends and was on his way back home to London. His name was Tom and he wanted to be a professional cage fighter. I told him this was my first time travelling to London by myself and he offered to show me the way to St Pancras even though he wasn’t going that way. He walked me all the way to the barriers where my platform was and now instead of rushing for my train I now had time to spare. I thanked him and we went our separate ways.

This really had an impression on me. The fact that someone would take time out of their day to help a random stranger who they have never met is such a good thing to do. Had it not been for Tom I would have missed my reserved train to see my boyfriend and would have had to get one a lot later on. It got me thinking if everybody did a random act of kindness a day then the world would be a much happier place. There is even an actual Random Act of Kindness day celebrated in New Zealand every February 17th. Tomorrow make it your challenge to do a random act of kindness, it doesn’t need to be something huge, just a selfless act on your behalf which will help a random stranger.  🙂

Leave a Reply

