Interview with Zen Lee, a Kickboxer at Loughborough University

Zen Lee is a second year student studying Economics at Loughborough University. He started kickboxing just under three years ago, and is now three times Ecka National Kickboxing Champion, 2013 University National Kickboxing champion, and 2014 British Champion.

1)    What motivates you?

 Training motivates me, I love training. I love the stretching, the kicking, the combinations you learn, the atmosphere, and the people. That’s what motivates me.

2)    How often do you train?

I train three times a week with two hour sessions. Occasionally I do extra training in my room or with my friend.

3)    Do you have a particular focus in training?

I mainly focussing on improving my kicking, and my fitness, those two are my main focuses when I train.

4)    So you have a special diet you follow?

Not really, because I only thought of kickboxing as a hobby, I didn’t really take it seriously. But now that I’ve got a chance of achieving something big I will start eating healthier.

5)    What is it like coaching?

Interesting because I’ve had students walk through the door who have never done anything physical in their life and others who have trained longer than I have, so I’ve had to find that balance that keeps everyone going to that next level without others feeling left behind. It really shows me how much I think I know against how much I actually know.

6)    Do you have any advice for people wanting to get into kick boxing?

Just get involved as it’s so rewarding both physical and mentally.

7)    What is it like competing for Loughborough University?

It’s exciting, being team captain I’ve always got to lead by example, and I’ve being doing a good job of that so far.

8)    What is your favourite thing about the fight nights?

My favourite thing is not knowing the outcome.

9)    Have you any competitions coming up?

I’ve got the university championship in three weeks, and a few others but the big one is the Europeans in Spain where I’ll be fighting for GB. Because I won the British championship, I got invited to the GB squad sessions

10)  Are you excited?

Yeah I’ve been looking forward to it since I heard about it a few months ago.

11)  What is training with GB like?

It starts next week, but I’m sure it’s going to be intense.

Thank you Zen, and best of luck in your competitions!

Leave a Reply

