Day 2 – My Favourite Inspirational Quotations

Day 2 of my 30 day blog challenge! My blog is full of motivational, inspirational and fitspiration quotations and I thought I would share with you some of my favourites! 🙂

1 – “Change your thoughts, change your life”. This is by Lao Tzu.

It is one of my favourite quotes because I am a huge believer of positive thinking. If you are having a bad day, only you can change it around. It is your thoughts which determine if you are going to let a situation effect you negatively or if you are going to turn it around and turn it into something positive.

2- “Remember, no one can make you feel inferior without your consent”. This famous quote is by Eleanor Roosevelt.

It relates back to my first quote. You should always have confidence in your own abilities. Other people will be jealous of you and try to bring you down with their negative thoughts, however it is down to you whether you let it. If you are certain and comfortable within yourself then these will not affect you.

3- “Everything happens for a reason”.

I am unsure as to who this originated from however I believe that this is a valid piece of advice. No matter what gets thrown at you, it was put there for a reason and I am a firm believer in that.

4- “Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow; it empties today of its strength” by Corrie Ten Boom.

Over these past few years i I have come to realise that worrying about something whether it be deadlines or whatever is a complete waste of time. In the time you are worrying, it wastes so much time and energy that you could have done something far more productive. 

5- “Every dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world” by Harriet Tubman.

I want to be a writer and a journalist. The industry is very competitive however whenever people tell me that I reply with ‘well somebody has to have that job and why can’t it be me’. Positive thinking in your own beliefs is necessary for success. If everybody gave up and didn’t have belief in their own abilities and dreams then the world would be such a miserable place. Anything is possible with self belief and determination.

6- “Don’t be afraid to stand up for what you believe in even if it means standing alone” – Unknown.

I would much rather stand alone with my own beliefs that agree with a room full of people just to fit in. As an ambassador for the Holocaust Educational Trust I realise how important it is to speak up even if you are the minority. Be confident in your own views, everybody has different opinions and if we all didn’t the world would be boring. So if you have a different opinion that is okay and you should express your beliefs instead of ignoring them to fit in.

7- “Always remember there’s a little girl inside you; treat her as if you just met her today” – Demi Lovato.

The first time I read this, it really made me think that we are so quick to judge and doubt ourselves. The critisms we give ourselves we would not say to a four year old child so why do we say them to ourselves? Be kind to yourself.

8- “How wonderful is it that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world” – Anne Frank.

I love this quotation because it reassures you that doing something good for somebody can make the difference of a bad day to a good day for them. A few months ago I was waiting on a train platform and I saw a girl similiar age to me, she was crying and everybody was just walking past her. I went up to her and gave her a big hug because she looked like she needed it. I chatted to her and made her laugh and we then parted ways. Tiny actions can make a huge difference to people and I think it is important to remember that.

9- “It is not in the stars to hold our destiny but in ourselves” – William Shakespeare

We create our own opportunities in this world. If you give up on your dreams and have a defeatist attitude you will never reach them. However if you are active and determined that you will pursue them, chances are you will.

10- “Only do what your heart tells you to” – Princess Diana

What your heart and gut feeling tells you (from my personal experience) is genuinely always the correct choice. Listen to your heart because if your heart is not in it then there is no point. For instance, I would rather apply for a job less well paid that I enjoyed than be rich and hate my job. 

 

One thought on “Day 2 – My Favourite Inspirational Quotations

  1. A good collection glad to see there is nothing from the Kardashians in there 😛

    A few of my favorites

    People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing, that’s why we recommend it daily.

    Zig Zaglar

    “There’s a difference between interest
    and commitment. When you’re interested in doing something, you do it
    only when it’s convenient. When you’re committed to something, you
    accept no excuses – only results.”
    ― Kenneth H. Blanchard

Leave a Reply

