Today I did a skydive!

FullSizeRender (13)

My friend Lizzie and I after the jump

Today I did a skydive! I did it to raise money for the Breast Cancer Campaign, when I put everything together I will have raised £400 for this amazing cause!

I have always wanted to do a skydive and my university were offering the chance to do one in their ‘choose a challenge’ evening. So I signed up then seven months later the day finally came! I was so excited for it I only managed to have four and a half hours sleep the night before! A group of us went from the university on a coach to a local airfield. Once we got there we were briefed on what to expect, what positions to do at certain altitudes (the safety stuff really). I was one of the first to jump! I was more excited than nervous because I’m quite good with heights. We climbed into the little plane (which had no seats and a sliding see-through door!). The flight up was quite cool because I have never been in a plane that small before. I was then attached to my skydiver because I did a tandem. Then when we got to 13,000 feet above the clouds it was my time to jump!

We shuffled to the edge, the plane door was open and I dangled my feet over the edge! This was the scariest bit because all I could see were clouds. It is honestly what I imagined heaven to be like, it was so peaceful. It was quite cold at the top and progressively became warmer the closer to the ground I got so I wore gloves! I had to cross my hands over my chest, put my head back and arch my back ready for the free fall. The free fall was really amazing! Floating in the clouds, just enjoying what felt to me like flying. I had such a good time, it lasted for about 50 seconds before Chris pulled the parachute. Then we shot up and began to descend. The views were absolutely incredible! If you have ever seen Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (the original version) when they fly in the glass lift – that’s what it felt like!

It was literally the best experience of my life. The feeling you get from skydiving is so unexplainable – the adrenaline, the excitement and the nerves all at one time! I really enjoyed it and would do it again! The guys at the airfield made us all feel so comfortable and not nervous at all.

In the grand scheme of things I am more proud of the money I have raised than doing the actual jump itself. To be able to help people who have breast cancer by raising £400 is incredible. The university raised well over £6,000 for breast cancer from the skydives alone – which is phenomenal!

I will never forget this experience! I had a cameraman so have photos and videos and when they get sent to me I will upload it to my blog and you all can have a good laugh at me screaming the whole way down in true Sophie style!

10 thoughts on “Today I did a skydive!

Leave a Reply

